Positive People = Positive Energy

I try my best to be a positive person.  I’ve been making a conscious effort since I was in my 20’s.  I guess my wake up call was when I was out socializing with a group of friends and I felt the need to talk negatively about a co-worker.  As I was spewing what I thought was an important message, one of my friends looked at me and said, “Do you ever have anything nice to say about anyone?”  I was dumbfounded and stunned by her directness.  Needless to say I was embarrassed.  Lets just say the rest of the evening was bust.  I couldn’t shake what she said.  I thought, “If a friend views me this way, then how am I being perceived by everyone else I come in contact with?”

Those few words hit me hard – as I knew it was time for an attitude adjustment.  In the early stages of my “I got a new attitude” journey, I’d take one step forward – spew some garbage – then take two steps back.  I remained diligent and committed to the quest of “the new me” and over time it became easier as the positive me overpowered the negative me.  I guess the saying “repetition is the mother skill” really does work.

I can’t stress enough about the importance of surrounding yourself with positive people.  Being around optimistic people will inspire and motivate you to make changes.  It will empower you to believe in yourself and set out to accomplish goals you never thought otherwise you could achieve.

Here are some tips that can help you on your journey to “I got a new attitude”:

Step 1: Admit that you are negative.  The first step to changing your attitude is to admit that you are negative and have negative thoughts. Whether talking about a coworker behind his/her back or believing you “can’t” do something; these contribute to a pessimistic lifestyle.

Step 2: Be Determined to be Positive.  Once you’ve admitted you are negative, or at least have some negative tendencies, you can resolve to changing the way you think. Become conscious of your daily thoughts and actions.  When a negative thought enters your mind – quickly turn it around.  Think and speak positively about people.  Eliminate the word “can’t” from your vocabulary and replace it with “can”.  Instead of “I don’t think I can do that,” think “I love a new challenge – I can do this no matter how hard it is.”

Step 3: Remove Yourself From Negative Influences.  Over time; your environment begins to reflect who you are.  Example: If you hang with people who are always griping about their job, how nothing every goes right for them or have a negative view about life and society – it is necessary to take steps to slowly weed out that group of people and seek out those who are positive influences. They are out there; and when you are consciously ready and open to postive changes – your new energy will automatically attract positive people. 

When you replace a negative environment with a positive one, you make huge strides in improving your lifestyle.  It also lifts your self-esteem and confidence.

Step 4: Spread Your New Attitude To Others.  Put your new positive thinking lifestyle into action. Practice spreading your “I got a new attitude” to others and it will grow.

When you are open to change and commit to a positive attitude, you will start to see it affect and shine through other aspects of your life.

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people do that, but the really great ones make you feel that you, too, can somehow become great.”
– Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

